Feminist Philosophers

News feminist philosophers can use

On Dec. 25, a completely silly video of cats singing December 25, 2007

Filed under: ageing,human rights,intersectionality,politics,war — jj @ 3:52 am

about sleigh bells in the snow would have been great, but I gave up on finding a really good one.  In part because I discovered a video that has left me very puzzled, a state that philosophers can love.  What I’m puzzled about is:  What happened?  The background scenes seen in the video below seem to have vanished.  And of course that war is basically over, but the current crisis in the States is sadly too similar.  

 

10 Responses to “On Dec. 25, a completely silly video of cats singing”

  1. Introvertica Says:

    Thank you for the trip back in time. Seeing John Lennon brought tears to my eyes. I remember the idealism, hope, and dedication of young people of my generation, and I wonder what happened to us. I am ashamed of my generation: We make higher education less attainable for the current generation of young people; we have not learned the lessons of war; we have ravaged the earth and destroyed its bounty. I am so sorry.

  2. JJ Says:

    Introvertica, you remind me that we are seeing the failures of a number of different generations. That seems right. Thank you.

  3. museditions Says:

    Wow. I just came from seeing the film “Charlie Wilson’s War”, and now this. I’m amazed at the large gap between ideals and reality. There are many directions I could go after that last sentence, but for now I’ll just thank you for posting this, and bringing tears to my eyes, too.

  4. JJ Says:

    museditions, Thank you.
    Please come back and say some more, when you can.

  5. Jender Says:

    Hmm… voice from a later generation here… I grew up idolising the late 60s activism, wishing I’d been of the right generation to participate. But I think I became forever cynical in 2000. What got me was not just that election was stolen, but that people didn’t riot in the streets, and– even more– that everyone seemed to think the lack of rioting was a good thing. I remember people congratulating themselves on the country’s maturity, and thinking “if ever there was a time to fucking riot in the streets, it’s when your democracy is being stolen before your eyes”. (Apologies– I tried deleting the expletive, but decided it was needed. In fact, many more are needed, but I’m controlling myself.) The shock has passed and left me cynical enough to wonder if one reason for the size and scale of 60s protests was that everyone knew that either they or their loved ones could be drafted and sent to war. I’m not saying that was *everyone’s* reason for participating– not by any means– but just wondering if that contributed to the scale of the protests.

  6. Introvertica Says:

    Jender, the sixties youth protests were not confined to the USA; therefore the threat of the (American) draft cannot be the full explanation for the protests of that time. Youth were very active in France, for example, and also in Canada. Sometimes the protests were against the American incursion into Vietnam; other times they had different targets. I am not American, but I remember taking part in a sit-in at my campus to protest the lack of childcare for students’ offspring. At the time it seemed like a rather tame event, and I did not yet have a feminist perspective; nor was I a mother. But now, almost forty years later, it looks like a radical demand (at least for the times). I also remember taking part in a sit-in to ensure access to the new library’s books for undergrads. I’m sure that looks quaint by today’s standards. Yet we were willing to spend hours, cooped up uncomfortably in a small space, without food, and running the risk of arrest for trespass, for the sake of intellectual access. I also remember protests by feminists for access to male space. There were also frequent teach-ins; everybody skipped their classes in order to spend all day (and sometimes all night) learning about political issues. Meanwhile, in my city the hippy movement was thriving. I used to watch police raids, searching for drugs, against the hippy enclave across the street from where I lived. There was no violence on the part of the hippies, other than some egg-throwing. What am I getting at here? I guess just that protest and deviation from conservative norms were widespread in the late sixties, and took many different forms. Much of it was a reaction to growing up in the fifties. I find my students can scarcely believe how restrictive life then was, especially for women. We had nothing to lose except the sexual, intellectual, reproductive, and behavioral oppression that was regarded as both normal and necessary at the time.

  7. Jender Says:

    Yep, you’re right. My explanation really doesn’t work.

  8. JJ Says:

    Well, but surely there’s something to be said for connecting some aspects of 60′s activism and the draft. The present gov’t appears to go to great lengths to keep most of Americans from feeling negative effects of the war, and it seems likely that a draft would lead to more pressure from the people to end our involvement.

  9. fj Says:

    Santayana wrote “Those who do not remember the past are condemned to repeat it”. Unfortunately, too many choose to not remember the past…..

  10. [...] brings me to this question the Feminist Philosophers pose about the differences between political mobilization now and during the anti-Vietnam war era. They [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,499 other followers