Feminist Philosophers

News feminist philosophers can use

Podcasts to recommend? November 6, 2008

Filed under: women in philosophy — annejjacobson @ 5:37 pm

Driving can be very boring.  Talk radio can be very horrifying in a red state.  Podcasts are a possible resource.  I’ll start off listing some of my favorites, but I hope others will contribute theirs. 

By the way, there’s a dearth of good feminist/feminist-philosophy podcasts and perhaps feministphilosophers should try to create a series.  Any thoughts on this?

All the podcasts in my list are going to be available through itunes, though I just saw an Intro to Psychology course given by Paul Bloom at Yale is available through yale.  He works on terrific topics and with stellar women.

My list:

Philosophy Bites:  short conversations with ‘top’ philosophers.  About 20% women, largely UK.

This American Life – the podcast for Sept 8, 2008, gives a very vivid picture of the psychological effects of fighting in Iraq.

Phil 185 fall 2007 – Bert Dreyfus on Heidegger (I must know more about him; yes I will!).

Neuropod and the Brain Science podcast – I listen to some of these.

Democracy Now/Bill Moyers journal/NPR Fresh Air – I try to catch the first two as broadcasts; the last I look in on occasionally, when I have time.  I don’t drive all that much!

So how about you?  There must be tons of others to be recommended.  And what do you think of a feminist philosophy series?  It might be possible to do fairly inexpensively by setting up some of the interviews at meetings.

 

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,633 other followers