Feminist Philosophers

News feminist philosophers can use

Aspergers and girls April 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Monkey @ 5:09 pm

Aspergers is an Autism Spectrum Disorder. It is generally thought to affect far more boys than girls. However, a leading expert on such disorders, Dr. Judith Gould, argues that many girls with Aspergers are not diagnosed. According to Gould, this is because the criteria for diagnosis are based on the ways in which boys manifest the disease, and girls’ symptoms are different. Undiagnosed Aspergers can make life miserable, leading to extremely low self-esteem. It may play a role in anorexia and self-harm in some cases. Here is the Guardian article.

 

12 Responses to “Aspergers and girls”

  1. What a interesting read. My son is 8 with aspergers.

  2. Monkey Says:

    Hi Clairelouise, thanks for dropping by.

  3. Heg Says:

    This is really interesting: I’d love to know in more detail what the differences in manifestation tend to be. I wonder what the relevance is for Simon Baron-Cohen’s ‘extreme male brain’ theory of autism?

    I imagine there’s also a relationship with the (suspected) under-identification of girls with ADHD, which makes me think there’s a general issue about gender and neurodiversity.

  4. jj Says:

    Here’s an article about the difference; it also suggests that girls are way underdiagnosed. If you click around on the site, you can get some information about the author. I googled “girls aspergers” and go a lot of sites.

  5. Monkey Says:

    Cheers for the link, JJ.

  6. jj Says:

    Thanks, Monkey. I’m not sure its news, because one would think one could have figured it out.

  7. geniusmoose Says:

    Hey. Thanks for posting this.

  8. secretsue12321 Says:

    I have an autism blog too. let’s share info.

  9. secretsue12321 Says:

    I know all about the depression and low self esteem. i consider adolecance to be “my period of momentary insanity.” I blog about what I go through and my aspirations on keeping it a secret. People should see me for who I am an not as a disabled person. I hope you find this interesting.

  10. secretsue12321 Says:

    I didn’t notice that I alredy commented here woops!
    This is a great blog!

  11. Moose Says:

    secretsue12321: What is your blog? I would be interested in reading.

  12. [...] criteria were based on male manifestations of the disorders, many females go undiagnosed. See this post for more [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,672 other followers