Feminist Philosophers

News feminist philosophers can use

Sticks, Hooks and the Mobius: Knit and Crochet Go Cerebral January 8, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — redeyedtreefrog @ 2:50 am

Knitting and math, together again.

“Knitting and crocheting are used to explain complex mathematical formulas and to portray scientific forms — from fish embryos to molecules.
….The show features a crocheted piece listed in Guinness World Records as the largest hyperbolic plane. The piece was made by Daina Taimina, author of the award-winning book “Crocheting Adventures with Hyperbolic Planes.””

Read more here.

Thanks WL.

 

10 Responses to “Sticks, Hooks and the Mobius: Knit and Crochet Go Cerebral”

  1. What interesting news! We noted Taimina’s work some time ago; it’s exciting to see it grow, as it were.

    For earlier posts, along with the present one, search under “Taimina,” or just follow this link: http://feministphilosophers.wordpress.com/?s=Taimina

  2. redeyedtreefrog Says:

    I thought there’d been an earlier reference! Aha.

  3. Catarina Says:

    I wrote a post on Taimina’s crochet models of the hyperbolic plane a while ago:

    http://m-phi.blogspot.com/2011/08/representing-hyperbolic-plane-with.html

    They are mathematically fascinating and aesthetically beautiful!

  4. I just read a depressing article about being unable to forget things and being depressed. I’d really like not to recognize topics like this.

  5. There are also patterns for Klein bottles which make quite remarkable hats. I’m a knitter!

  6. jhante (@jhante) Says:

    I’m so impressed with these hyperbolic designs. One day I need to try it myself.

  7. Susan Huxley Says:

    W The exhibit opened yesterday and received a lot of press. As a feminist, I’m disappointed at the lack of coverage of the reason for the afghan bombing going up the hill from the downtown to the college. I told every reporter that it’s a feminist statement and explained it, yet none reported it. All of the afghans were purchased for less than $5 at thrift shops. I collected what I found, wasn’t at all selective. My point is that stitchers are giving more than an afghan; it’s a gift of love and time. Yet many recipients immediately discard the afghans. It was obvious that most of the ones I collected were never used. A couple had been tossed in a washing machine and shrunk. Does our society value traditionally women’s work so little? The afghans are outside in all weather to be provocative…I want stitchers to have a protective gut reaction to the possible damage. And I want non-stitchers who have the same reaction to maybe wonder why they don’t think about the value and beauty of afghans before they give them away.

  8. Absolute genius! I love this show.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    Amazing article. Not to mention an amazing feat to accomplish in it’s self. Have to agree with the post above by Susan. No one understands the care that goes into a hand worked creation. Priceless, yet purchased for only $5.00 at a thrift store. Shameful.

  10. Anonymous Says:

    Opps. Hit post before I signed. I’m not anonymous…Just someone who loves to crochet. http://www.howtocrochetabeanie.com


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,682 other followers