Feminist Philosophers

News feminist philosophers can use

Knitting and Science March 29, 2012

Filed under: crafts — Monkey @ 9:52 pm

Here at FP, we love what happens when traditional womanly crafting skills meet science (or beards). So here’s another to add to the series – sadly, I’m not sure where it’s from. A friend randomly posted this on Facebook. But behold, and enjoy…Image 

UPDATED TO ADD: The pattern can be found (and purchased) on Ravelry. The designers name is Alana Noritake. Thanks to Marianne for supplying this info!

 

8 Responses to “Knitting and Science”

  1. Marianne Says:

    The pattern can be found (and purchased) on Ravelry, here: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/brain-hat
    The designers name is Alana Noritake.

  2. alpha Says:

    Monkey, thank you for posting. I just love this ‘yarn meet science’ stuff.

  3. Look at this! http://www.toroidalsnark.net/mathknit.html I haven’t succeeded in knitting a Klein bottle yet, but I have knitted a Fibonacci striped scarf.

  4. Christine Says:

    Unfortunately, I think it would take me to wear something like this for some (very immediate) colleagues to even acknowledge I do have a brain…

  5. Alan Says:

    I can’t knit or crochet (which given my Mom’s former expertise at both is a shame) but where can I buy one? I simply love this.

  6. Kate Norlock Says:

    I want this! Although, come to think of it, it might be a bit too attractive in the ZA.

  7. dchudz Says:

    You might like this little thing I did to try simulating knitting with code (http://blog.learnfromdata.com/2011/11/simulated-knitting.html), or this site I made to help knitters predict how their pooling will turn out (http://www.plannedpooling.com). I imagine the pooling may have some connections to number theory, but I haven’t really thought it through.

  8. Anonymous Says:

    Not all scientists have beards! This may surprise you, but women can be scientist too.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,682 other followers