Feminist Philosophers

News feminist philosophers can use

Breastfeeding time again May 31, 2012

Filed under: hostile workplace,maternity — hippocampa @ 3:42 pm

It’s been a while since we reported on breastfeeding fuss here on femphils, so I thought it would be nice to toss one in again (thanks to @allenstairs for pointing this one out to me): controversy about military moms breastfeeding in uniform.

Some people equal that to urinating and defecating in uniform (i.e. should be in private). I briefly wondered what they have been fed as infants.

Read the article here.

 

6 Responses to “Breastfeeding time again”

  1. We need to move away from the idea that breasts and breastfeeding is dirty, nasty, shameful and gross. That outrageous cultural idea is what keeps a lot of mothers from breastfeeding in the first place. It is healthy, wholesome, natural and what is best for both mother and baby. Women should not be shamed and shunned to breastfeed in the corner or in a public bathrooms. My daughter STILL hates public bathrooms and freaks out when she hears a toilet flush because when I travelled with her as a baby, that’s where I fed her and it freaked her out everytime a toilet flushed. I don’t know about you, but I personally wouldn’t want to eat in a public restroom. Now that’s gross! If I had to do it over again, I’d wouldn’t feel shamed into doing that to her.

    Comparing breastfeeding to urinating and defecating is shameful thing; it’s comparing breast-milk to human excrement! As long as we continue this anti-female, patriarchal view that all breasts are for are sexual pleasure, it’ll never be completely accepted as this is what is best for baby AND mother.

    In my opinion, this is a great public service announcement that YES, you can as an Active duty mother can still serve and breastfeed your baby (well for up to 6 months anyways in the Army as women are non-deployable for 6 months after giving birth). I was done with my Active duty time when my first baby was born but was on Reserve status. My superiors gave me all the breaks and time I needed to pump during weekend drills as I obviously couldn’t have my baby there with me while on duty. They make maternity uniforms – I wonder how possible and/or costly it would be to produce breastfeeding undershirts or even modify the t-shirt by amending AR 670-1 (Army uniform regulation). I strongly feel that if women are allowed to bottle feed their babies while in uniform, they should be able to breastfeed while in uniform.

  2. Merry Says:

    It should be compared to eating in uniform, not defecating or urinating in uniform.

    I never fed my kids in a restroom. The thought just made my skin crawl. I would just try and find some place a little quiet and out of the way, which was my preference. Who doesn’t like a nice ambiance with their meal? I really don’t understand this idea of encouraging women to breastfeed in a public bathroom!? For people suggesting that, I always suggested that they were free to picnic in there, but I’m trying to encourage sanitary eating habits in my children.

  3. Rebecca Kukla Says:

    Hm. “According to Military Spouse Central, public displays of affection — even something as innocuous as holding hands — are not allowed while wearing a military uniform. Also forbidden while in uniform: eating, drinking, or talking on a cell phone while walking, carrying an umbrella that’s not black, and (in some cases) smoking or even chewing gum.” I’m confused. So military people have to change all the way out of uniform each time they eat or get a drink of water? This doesn’t make any sense to me. But in that context, I’m not surprised breastfeeding is questionable too; in fact I am surprised it is allowed.

  4. swallerstein Says:

    Maybe eating and drinking while walking (and in uniform) are prohibited.

  5. [...] Breastfeeding time again (feministphilosophers.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

  6. [...] Breastfeeding time again (feministphilosophers.wordpress.com) [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,598 other followers