Feminist Philosophers

News feminist philosophers can use

Is this what post-racism looks like? August 30, 2012

Filed under: race,Uncategorized — annejjacobson @ 10:45 pm

White republicans throwing peanuts at a black CNN camera woman? “We know how to treat animals,” one report had a convention member say.

“I can’t change these people’s hearts and minds,” [Patricia]Carroll told Journal-isms. “No, it doesn’t feel good. But I know who I am. I’m a proud black woman. A lot of black people are upset. This should be a wake-up call to black people… . People were living in euphoria for a while. People think we’re gone further than we have.”

Carroll says she hopes the story goes away.

“I was hoping this story would go away,” she said. “I’m not interested in talking to any other media about this.”

In her interview with Journal-isms Carroll also thanked CNN for being “behind me 100 percent.”

And peanuts? I don’t want to go there.

 

3 Responses to “Is this what post-racism looks like?”

  1. Kristin Says:

    “People were living in euphoria,” because they were believing in the myth of post-racism. Racism is far too socially constructed and engrained in our psyches, and we are far too naive to think after it has existed and has been reinforced for centuries, that it would just disappear in a matter of decades.*

    Now, with that being said, my cynicism is comforted by knowing that not only are “a lot of black people upset” but a lot of white people are too (as well as other “ppl of color/ difference”). Meaning, what we have done, is raised up a generation of willing allies and advocates who are willing to pull the sheets off the ugliness and call racism (and other -izms) out when it happens.

    *and annejjacobsen, please know I mean no critique of your choice of title, just my individual commentary on the idea of “post racism”. I include you and the consortium of posters on this blog in the latter of my comment; advocates and allies calling out the ugliness, and thank you for doing do.(just thought that needed to be said) Namaste!

  2. annejjacobson Says:

    Kristin, thank you very much. You make a good point; it isn’t just black people who are upset.

    I did mean the title term to be taken ironically.

  3. ChrisTS Says:

    I understad her personal wish to not have this become a political dog and pony show, and Iunderstand her saying that it could happen at a Democratic convention.

    That said, I wonder if such an event would be anywhere as likely at a DNC event. And, I wish she would allow more interviews.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,682 other followers