Feminist Philosophers

News feminist philosophers can use

What to give the Salvation Army November 30, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jender @ 12:30 pm

One these vouchers, explaining your lack of support for bigotry.

 

7 Responses to “What to give the Salvation Army”

  1. Reblogged this on bookofshadowsandblessings and commented:
    The red kettle is always hard for me. On one hand I want to help those in need, on the other telling people to pray away gay or supporting governments that are trying to make it legal to KILL gay people is not a value I can support. So I have decided to print up a bunch of these vouchers and number them. For each voucher I give to the Salvation Army, Hubs and I will donate a dollar to our local food bank.

  2. Jarrod Says:

    I have always been conflicted about this too. My mother works for the Salvation Army, and might ask me to work a kettle when I come home for Christmas. In past years I have said no re:homophobia, but now I am more aware that the psychic pain of doing so would likely be outweighed by even a small amount of extra money going to a shelter (I suspect the majority of people who give to a kettle do so out of compulsion, and would not otherwise give that money to a different charity). And I doubt, no matter what I choose, that it will in any way alter the Salvation Army’s homophobia. Is there anything I’m missing? Would it be better or worse to wear a LGBT lapel while doing it?

    Maybe I will just have to practice my surprised look if anyone shoves one of these things in my face! :D

  3. Many drops in a bucket will eventually fill it up. Every little bit of protest helps.

  4. itsZee Says:

    I appreciate that the vouchers merely report, but don’t endorse, the senior official’s claim that they don’t discriminate with their charitable services, but it would be nice if the voucher included not discriminating in their charitable services as one of the conditions of my giving.

    From what I’ve heard, the extent to which homeless shelters and other services run by the Salvation Army “don’t turn people away” is only that they won’t turn LGBT folks if they promise to *stop being LGBT folks*. That is, as long as they detransition and swear to stop identifying as trans (for trans folks) or (for LGB folks) “renounce their sexuality, end same-sex relationships, or, in some cases, attend services “open to all who confess Christ as Savior and who accept and abide by The Salvation Army’s doctrine and discipline.”” (quote from http://www.bilerico.com/2011/11/why_you_shouldnt_donate_to_the_salvation_army_bell.php ).

  5. Katy Abramson Says:

    my experience working (quite a while ago, however) with homeless women in Chicago was that the Salvation Army there was discriminating in their “charitable work” as well. ymmv. I have no earthly idea what are their practices elsewhere, or in Chicago now for that matter.
    That said, LOVE the little slips. I’m going to print a whole bunch out tomorrow.

  6. Adele Mercier Says:

    Lovely terrific idea. Thank you. Will spread the word.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,632 other followers