Feminist Philosophers

News feminist philosophers can use

Feeling past it? Don’t! February 12, 2013

Filed under: ageing,aging,Uncategorized — annejjacobson @ 8:55 pm

I haven’t had time to watch the whole thing, but I’d bet it is heteronormative. On the other hand, its portrayal of African American women seems to be non-standard in a good way, though it might be classist. See what you think!

 

4 Responses to “Feeling past it? Don’t!”

  1. B Says:

    I bet they also only focus on humans, so they’re anthrocentric, and no doubt they don’t focus on ghosts at all, so they’re vitacentric, and I can’t imagine that they focus on those who are temporally bounded, so they’re chronocentric. Why can’t people be more liberal and open-minded and all around good and non-evil like me and stop being anything-centric?!

  2. Anon Says:

    I’m curious. What’s non-standard about the way the African-American women are portrayed? What do you consider a standard portrayal?

  3. annejjacobson Says:

    Amon: its the sort of remark I regret, and I can’t remember why I said it. I think I meant that they were portrayed the way the white women were.

  4. annejjacobson Says:

    Let me add: that may be more common now, but it was thought to be uncommon when, e.g., Crosby-as-doctor was on.b


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,692 other followers