Feminist Philosophers

News feminist philosophers can use

Academic Assholes and the Circle of Niceness February 19, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jender @ 2:02 pm

Read about it here.

 

One Response to “Academic Assholes and the Circle of Niceness”

  1. Anon Says:

    This post really resonates with me. I am a junior scholar and on the market this year. I am in the scary and overwhelming, but also very lucky, position of having multiple offers to decide between. One of those offers is from what I would consider a very strong research program. But I have never been the kind of scholar who performs well in what the blog post refers to as “academic pissing matches.” My writing is solid. I enjoy constructive, friendly conversations about my research (and the research of others), and find such conversations immensely helpful in improving my own work. But I detest what I have heard another colleague refer to as “full-contact philosophy” and am seriously considering turning down what is a great opportunity for an amazing research career because I am worried I may find myself in an institution where the asshole attitudes are more prominent. So in short: Yes, it does seem likely to be the case that the predominant asshole-ery may be turning off younger, more friendly, but otherwise bright scholars.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,747 other followers