The Okin-Young Award

Something good to come out of the sad losses feminist political theory has recently suffered. 

Announcing the Okin-Young Award in Feminist Political TheoryThe Women and Politics and Foundations of Political Theory sections ofthe American Political Science Association and the Women’s Caucus forPolitical Science announce the Okin-Young Award in Feminist Political Theory. The award commemorates the scholarly, mentoring, and professional contributions of Susan Moller Okin and Iris Marion Young to the development of the field of feminist political theory. This annual award recognizes the best paper on feminist political theory published in an English language academic journal during the previous calendaryear. Papers will be considered by self-nomination or nomination by other individuals. The award carries a cash award of $600. To be eligible, the article must have been published in 2007.The deadline for submissions is February 15, 2008. To be considered for the award, one copy of the article should be sent to each member of theaward committee by mail or electronically as a PDF attachment. 

  •  Award committee chair:Professor Nancy J. Hirschmann, Department of Political Science, The University of Pennsylvania, Stiteler Hall,  Philadelphia, PA
  • Professor Kathy Ferguson, Department of Political Science, University of Hawai’i, 640 Saunders Hall, 2424 Maile Way, Honolulu, HI 96822,
  • Professor Joanna Vecchiarelli Scott, Eastern Michigan University, 1525 Harding Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48104,