Women of the Central Division APA

Check out these election results:

*Claudia Card has been elected Vice-President for 2009-2010
and President Elect for 2010-2011.
* Julia Driver has been elected Divisional Representative for 2009-2012.
* Lynn Joy has been elected Member at Large of the Executive Committee
* Lisa Downing, Gabriel Richardson Lear, Valerie Tiberius, and Linda
Zagzebski have been elected to the 2009-2010 Nominating Committee.

Thanks, Sally! (And is it just me, or does the title of this post very unfortunately sound like the name of a calendar?)

4 thoughts on “Women of the Central Division APA

  1. This is great news! I was so excited to see this ballot (and be able to vote for so many women). Really, it’s about time…

  2. That’s very nice- an excellent and deserving bunch of Philosophers. (I think Sally Sedgwick was the immediate past Central president, too, though I might be miss-remembering. For anyone who hasn’t read it, I very strongly recommend Claudia Card’s “Dewey Lecture” from a year or so ago about her experience in philosophy- it’s extremely interesting.

  3. Yes, I am on next year’s Program Committee, which is chaired by Margaret Atherton. Phyllis Rooney and Gabriel Lear are also on it. It is past the deadline to submit papers, but not too late to notify one of us if you would like to be considered to be a commentator. Just e-mail one of us and identify your area(s) of expertise. The meetings will be at the Palmer House in Chicago, February 17-20, 2010.

Comments are closed.