Travel awards, especially (but not only) for women

An interesting approach…

The Berlin School of Mind and Brain is delighted to announce a limited number of travel awards for students who are interested in exploring the possibility of doctoral studies at the School. As part of the Berlin School of Mind and Brain’s commitment to supporting women in science and the humanities, 50% of awards will be reserved for female students.

This year, we are particularly hoping for applications by students with an interest in:
– Philosophy of Mind

The awards will cover travel expenses and accommodation for four nights.

Please send:
– A short one- to two-page letter of application (detailing your reasons for applying for the travel award, your background and research interests);
– Your academic CV;
– A letter of recommendation.

Successful applicants will be invited to visit the School from 7 till 11 October 2012. They will have ample opportunities to meet with faculty and students relevant to their research interest, to view the School’s facilities and to get a better sense of the city itself.

In order to be eligible for this award you need to meet the basic eligibility criteria for applying to the School’s doctoral program in 2013; in particular you need to have completed or be in the process of completing a Master’s or equivalent degree in an area of study relevant to the School.

Further details about eligibility criteria for study at the School can be found here.

Applications should be made to admissions AT

Nice juxtaposition

1.  Larry Summers, who certainly encountered problems after he conjectured about innate limitations on women’s ability to excel in science, supports free speech. From the Chronicle of Higher Education:

Lawrence H. Summers, the former president of Harvard University, has joined the Board of Advisors to the Foundation for Individual Rights in Education, the free-speech advocacy group announced today. Mr. Summers certainly knows a thing or two about controversial speech: He stepped down from Harvard’s presidency in 2006, shortly after making much-criticized comments about women’s intrinsic abilities in the sciences.

2. The New York Times announces the winners of the prestigious Kavli Prize, decided by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters; 7 winners, five of them women:

Mildred S. Dresselhaus, a professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, won the nanoscience prize for her research on carbon nanotubes…

Cornelia Isabella Bargmann of Rockefeller University, Winfried Denk of the Max Planck Institute for Medical Research in Heidelberg, Germany, and Ann M. Graybiel of M.I.T. will split the neuroscience prize for work aimed at elucidating how the brain processes information from the environment.

The winners of the astrophysics prize … David C. Jewitt of the University of California, Los Angeles, and Jane X. Luu of M.I.T.’s Lincoln Laboratory discovered the Kuiper Belt in the form of a slow-moving (meaning it was very far away) object in 1992.

The third winner of the astrophysics prize, Michael E. Brown of the California Institute of Technology…