CFP: Women, Truth, Action

Women, Truth, Action

An International Conference in Philosophy

10–12, October, 2013, University of Helsinki, Finland

Keynote Speakers include: Lena Halldenius (Sweden), Sally Haslanger (USA), Alice Pugliese (Italy), Lanei Rodemayer (USA) and Charlotte Witt (USA)

The conference will focus on three fields and themes informed by the gender perspective: phenomenology (“Subject, Body, World”), metaphysics (“Meaning and Objectivity”), and politics (“Action and Change”). The conference is motivated by the fact that in all these fields women philosophers work with excellent results and with innovative approaches. We wish to bring together scholars from different philosophical traditions – analytic and continental – as well as from history of philosophy so that they can share their insights on common topics of interest and establish a dialogue across dividing lines that mainly are dogmatic and seldom beneficial.

We welcome proposals from senior researchers as well as from graduate students.

Proposals should consist of a suggested title and an abstract (max. 400 words). Proposals will be blind reviewed. Please, provide the title of the paper, your name, affiliation and contact information in the cover letter. Remember to give the same title in the abstract and in the cover letter! To submit a proposal, send it as an email attachment and with a cover letter to Virpi Lehtinen (virpi.lehtinen [at] Please, include the title of the proposal also to the covering letter. Ensure that the subject line of the email reads: WTA 2013 Proposal.

Deadline for submission: April 1, 2013. Submitters will be notified of the decisions by May 1, 2013.

Organizers: Sara Heinämaa’s Project Ethics of Renewal (HCAS, UH, AF) and The Association for Women and Feminist Philosophers in Finland (NFY)

Sponsors: Finnish Cultural Foundation, Subjectivity, Historicity and Communality (SHC), Philosophical Psychology, Morality and Politics Research Unit (PMP)

Organization Committee: Virpi Lehtinen, Sara Heinämaa, Martina Reuter, Erika Ruonakoski and Sanna Tirkkonen (University of Helsinki)