Conference: Feminist Philosophy and Pornography

16th – 18th of September 2013, Berlin

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Main Building (Unter den Linden 6), Room 3059


NANCY BAUER (Tufts University, US): What Philosophy Can’t Teach Us About Sexual Objectification
AMNERIS CHAPARRO (University of Essex, UK): Inegalitarian Pornography: Harm to Dignity
MATT DRABEK (University of Iowa, US): Gender Subordination and Pornography’s Authority
ANNE W. EATON (University of Illinois at Chicago, US): A Sex-Positive Antiporn Feminism
NICOLE HALL (University of Edinburgh, UK): ‘Sexiness’ and the Problem of Pornography
KATHARINE JENKINS (University of Sheffield, UK): What Are Women For? Pornography and Social Ontology
RAE LANGTON (University of Cambridge, UK & MIT, US): Pornography and ‘Sex Positive’ Feminism
HANS MAES (University of Kent, UK): Falling in Lust: On Sex Objects and Sexy Subjects
ISHANI MAITRA (University of Michigan, US): Revisiting the Authority Problem
MARY KATE MCGOWAN (Wellesley College, US): On How Pornography Can be Used to Enact Discrimination
EVANGELIA (LINA) PAPADAKI (University of Crete, Greece): Pornography: Objectification and Personification
NICOLE WYATT (University of Calgary, Canada): Naming and Refusing: Austinian approaches to MacKinnon on Silencing
ROBIN ZHENG (University of Michigan, US): A Case Against Racialized Sexual Preferences: Why Yellow Fever Isn’t Flattering

Registration for the event is now open! Please register by the 26th of August 2013 via email (feminismhu AT The conference fee is 10 Euros (full)/ 5 Euros (reduced) and payable on the day. The fee covers coffee breaks as well as a vegan/ vegetarian buffet at the conference reception (to be held on the 16th of September). Places are limited, so please register as early as possible.
This event is part of the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin Symposium Series Feminist Philosophy and…. For further information about the Symposium Series and past events, please see For queries concerning the event, please contact Mari Mikkola (mari.mikkola AT
Best wishes from local organisers,
Hilkje Haenel
Cathrin Hoefs
Mari Mikkola