International Society for Justice Research – cfp

The 15th biennial conference of the International Society for Justice Research (ISJR) will be held from June 19-22, 2014, on the campus of New York University, organized by Professor John T. Jost. The conference will take place primarily in facilities of the Leonard N. Stern Business School, New York University, in the heart of Greenwich Village (near historic Washington Square).

There will be three major conference themes:

(1) Economic inequality (the 1% vs. the 99%);
(2) Law, justice, and social science; and
(3) Progress, social stability, and change.

One of the keynote speeches will be given by Mahzarin R. Banaji, who is the Richard Clarke Cabot Professor of Social Ethics in the Department of Psychology at Harvard University.

Special invited symposia will be chaired by Guillermina Jasso (NYU/Sociology), Aaron C. Kay (Duke/Fuqua), Joshua Knobe (Yale Cognitive Science/Philosophy), Elizabeth Levy Paluck (Princeton Psychology/Public Policy), Manfred Schmitt (Koblenz-Landau/Psychology), Tom R. Tyler (Yale/Law School), and Kees van den Bos (Utrecht/Social Psychology).

We kindly invite you to submit contributions—especially symposium contributions involving four speakers—on a topic related to one of the conference themes or on any other aspect of fairness, legitimacy, or social justice. We would also like to ask you to help us spread the word about the conference. Please feel free to share this announcement digitally and otherwise.

The Program Committee now invites submissions of symposia (consisting of four speakers—or three speakers plus a discussant), individual talks/papers, and posters. See here for more information.

The submission deadline is December 15, 2013. Additional information about the conference including travel, hotel accommodations, and the submission procedure is available on the conference website.

ISJR is an interdisciplinary organization with an international membership, representing over 25 countries and a range of disciplines, including Psychology, Sociology, Political Science, Philosophy, Economics, History, Law & Criminal Justice, and Management & Organizational Behavior. ISJR is among the most important professional organizations world-wide representing social and behavioral scientists working in the field of justice. Its biennial scientific meetings aim to stimulate interdisciplinary dialogue and share the most recent developments and discoveries in theory and research on social justice.

Members of the Organizing and Program Committees include: John T. Jost (Chair), Steven Blader, Jojanneke van der Toorn, Claudia Cohen, Peter Coleman, Guillermina Jasso, Jaime L. Napier, Michael Wenzel (ISJR President), and Batia Wiesenfeld. Please feel free to contact any of us with questions, comments, or concerns.