Schliesser on Pogge

With characteristically thoughtful reflections.

Here’s just one:

Pogge has been an excellent mentor to many talented and accomplished women. This has been great for the profession, which, as we all know, has struggled to recruit and maintain women in the field. To recognize this, is not to deny that he has also been an awful professional colleague to other women (humans can be this imperfect); and, as the reports make clear, several of these have left the profession to our great shame. In addition, there must be quite a few witnesses (I have spoken to a few unrelated to the cases discussed in the press) who may not have interacted with Pogge personally, but who saw that he would get away crossing boundaries without anybody lifting a finger. How many more left the field in disgust (or anger)? Given that the profession is such a status hierarchy, bad behavior at the top can generate a huge pattern of exclusion. This is our generation’s disappearing ink.

For more, go here.

 

One thought on “Schliesser on Pogge

  1. For what it is anecdotally worth, I am a woman who was a student at Yale in the law school, with an existing interest in philosophy. I took a class with Pogge and was…..disquieted by the divergent (and odd-feeling) attention he showed visiting foreign female students. Thinking (mistakenly I am sure) that that was just what it was like in the philosophy department there, I did not interact further with the Yale philosophy department during my time in the law school, taking several years off philosophy. That may have been harmful for my career- and it certainly kept me away from many excellent scholars from whom I could have learned a great deal. I didn’t leave the field. But I did step back from it, in ways that may have had longer term implications from me. And I imagine I wasn’t the only woman who made such a choice- a choice that wouldn’t show up in any existing ways of measuring female participation in the field.

Leave a Reply

