Gender, the Fed, male networks and implicit bias

Great article by Matt Yglesias. (Thanks, M!)

I think about myself. I’m a man. Like most American men, I’d say a majority of my close friends are men. What’s more, most political journalists are men. So when I think about my closest personal associates in the field of political journalism, I come up with a list of cronies and buddies and confidantes who are mostly men. And that’s life. But precisely because this is such a banal state of affairs, I try to go out of my way to be cognizant of it when I’m in a position to suggest candidates for jobs. If I go about devising a “gender blind” list of suggestions, I’m going to come up with a male-dominated list. Not because I’m some egregious misogynist, but because that’s my life and that’s my field. But this men-recommending-other-men dynamic is poisonous for the profession and for the world. The right thing to do is to sit around and say “I’m going to come up with some women to add to my list of recommendations before sending it over even if that means I need to think a bit harder.” Because unless someone does that, nothing ever changes.

5 thoughts on “Gender, the Fed, male networks and implicit bias

  1. Comments linked to by commenters above seem not to have read this story properly. Nor any of the other posts about implicit bias. Or about women in philosophy.

  2. I was thinking about this topic at work the other day. A small group was coming up with a list of critical thinking experts to invite to the workplace for a presentation. All the people in the group graduated from the same Ph.D program and, as a result, have a similar, predominantly male social network. This could be a useful article to circulate.

Comments are closed.